Then in the mid 80's I was a free agent and skated for many teams such as the Hawks and Devils. Updates and information on roller derby skaters past and present. Online shopping from a great selection at Movies & TV Store. The objectives of roller derby are relatively simple. There is a sense in which "Roller Boogie" comes as a There is a sense in which "Roller Boogie" comes as a refreshing surprise: I didn't think it was still possible, in the dog-eared final days of the 1970s, to have this silly, innocent, lame-brained and naive movie. All I know… This year is Roller Derby’s 80th anniversary, and we will bleed to celebrate → 9 comments on “ … It was broadcast for one season (1989–1990). It stars James Caan, John Houseman, Maud Adams, John Beck, Moses Gunn and Ralph Richardson.The screenplay, written by William Harrison, adapted his own short story, "Roller Ball Murder", which had first appeared in the September 1973 issue of Esquire. Vicki McEwen By Rich Besser. Many of the teams, skaters, names and plot lines are inspired by Cross' time with the Derby Dolls. The movie is written by Shauna Cross, a former Roller Derby skater with the Los Angeles Derby Dolls. On one evening in a decade of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll, the innocence of youth and family unravels. The festivities commence on disc one with a nearly hour-long documentary about the founders and some of the great skaters who graced the league during its heyday. ... After skating with the T-Birds which was for 3 1/2 years I stopped to have a baby Then in 1980 I went on to the Texas Outlaws as a jammer and a blocker. 5 DVD set of 1970's Roller Derby games and interviews...includes a free copy of the movie Derby...youtube links below TheBest of 1973's Roller Derby Interviews- The best interviews conductedby Walt Harris, Jerry Seltzer and Chet Coppock. Roller Derby's Greatest DVDs Best Games Of The 1980's Description 5 great games from the 1980's including a rare overtime contest in San Jose, a wild affair in